Picnics in the Castle

They say here in Hawarden that occasionally the Leopold Gate is open and one can wander among the ruins of the 13th century Hawarden castle. I was lucky that last Sunday afternoon was one of those occasions and my colleagues here at Gladstone’s Library covered ‘duty’ for me so I could take advantage of the opportunity. The afternoon was sunny and mild (although the locals call it ‘hot’). I put a pound in my pocket (the entrance fee), took some water and headed through the red gate to the castle. I was surprised, actually, at just how much there was to see. I wandered the grounds and climbed as high as was possible into the castle itself for wonderful views of the area. The Gladstone Castle (residence of the Gladstone descendants) is beautifully visible from the grounds – as are the cricket fields where a lively game of cricket was underway.

Whole families were in attendance and some had brought picnic lunches to share in the grassy area that was probably once the inside of the castle itself. I don’t know a lot about the history here but I do know that here we are literally on the border between England and Wales. I know that border towns were (and still are) often the site of high tensions and often armed conflict. And I have read enough about this area to know that was the case in North Wales. That is why the Romans stationed a whole legion in Chester just a few miles away when they were here.

So there is a poignancy, when you think about it, to the tranquility and peace that has overtaken the stone walls, once fortified for defense. The biggest fights going on in this castle now are between the various forms of bushes and blossoms that battle for prominence. I know that the Bible has more than its share of war images and there are countless stories of God-anointed warriors winning the day. So why is it that images of pink flowers and trees slowly retaking stone parapets seems a better image of God’s vision for the world than the stories of battles won or lost in the name of God? Picnics in the castle – what a grand image for world peace! Young, old, some in hiking boots and tennis shoes, some in high heels, others in sandals, some straight from Sunday church, others in shorts and tank tops, teenagers racing each other to the barrier, grandparents stepping carefully over uneven ground, accents from all over – American, Canadian, Scottish, Welsh, Irish, English, Australian – all coming to a castle that hasn’t been used in hundreds of years. An image, perhaps, of a kind of peaceable kin-dom. And, of course, that is in the Bible too.

As I set off to climb the winding stairs inside the castle tower, I heard a family above me coming down so I waited in an alcove for them to pass. A Mom and young son came first, carefully picking their way on the narrow steps. Then came another, older child. Then the youngest boy being helped by his Dad who smiled and thanked me for waiting. The little guy thanked me too and then he stopped and, looking quite concerned, said to me: ‘Be careful up there. The rail isn’t real strong in some places. Sometimes it shakes (he demonstrated) and it can get very scary.’ I looked as concerned as possible and solemnly thanked him, at which point he continued down. His Dad, following closely, shrugged his shoulders, rolled his eyes as if to say – there’s no problem really – and smiled. If that child was in charge, this would be quite a friendly kingdom!

I don’t know how the last king – or owner of this castle – would feel about what has become of his property but I suppose it is all a reminder than it was never his to begin with. The beauties of nature and the promise of new life will win out in the end and a picnic on the castle ground is a nice way to celebrate our hope that such peace will break out more often, in more places.

20130716-210253.jpg

20130716-210308.jpg

20130716-210320.jpg

20130716-210348.jpg

20130716-210645.jpg

20130716-210721.jpg

20130716-211015.jpg

20130716-211035.jpg

20130716-211051.jpg

2 thoughts on “Picnics in the Castle

Leave a comment