Boys and Bells

My last post mused about the long ringing of bells this evening…I even suggested they were perhaps ringing for a church celebration – like the feast of Mary Magdalene. (Which I still think would have been entirely appropriate!)

Of course, even as I posted, I realized the jubilant bells were celebrating the birth of the royal baby. Funny, when I first arrived here, I asked several folks about the anticipation of the birth. The comments I heard – almost to a person -were that ‘you Americans are far more interested in that than the Brits are.’

Well, I’m here to tell you that someone here was very interested in the news. Interested enough to ring bells and – well – I even met some folks coming back from a celebration at the local pub.

And, in the end, birth is to be celebrated, right? So – here’s to a healthy baby and a healthy Mum (to use some British speak). Let the bells ring! And – scones anyone?

20130722-222907.jpg

2 thoughts on “Boys and Bells

  1. I have very much enjoyed your blog! I spent 3 days in June at The Gladstone Library, visiting from Ohio. It is truly a wonderful location. It was wonderful to relax, read and listen to BBC4 on the Roberts radio at night. Enjoy your stay and if you find time, try to visit Bodnant Gardens near Tal-y-Cafn. Stunning!

Leave a comment